Make a difference with your difference

When you’re not heard, there is a major misalignment in the universe. But when you choose not to be heard, does that mean you’re purposely tilting the world on its head?

There should be more people who use their voices to raise awareness of an issue.

Kristen Bell has a history of teaching through example.

You know, there was a time when I hated talking about differences. It made me feel ashamed of a physical, religious, and emotional difference. At the base level, I was not sure I wanted to point out the difference between myself and others.

Growing up in America, I have been fortunate enough to be exposed to many forms of media. But growing up in America, it also meant that media couldn’t always handle people who looked, acted, and talked like me.

Apparently, it still can’t.

My dear friend found this article for me. The author, Mira Jacob, explains exactly why it is so detrimental to not point out your differences. She argues that the publishing industry needs people like us to speak up – if we do, maybe that means we will finally see ourselves outside ourselves.

Mindy Kaling, the actress, refuses to talk about her race in conjunction with her acting. Like the author, 

The shame I felt as a child for pointing out the differences should never have occurred in the first place.

It is the differences in Americans that make our country an interesting one.

Many of you have probably seen this graphic circulating, of what future Americans will look like.

I hope that future Americans have discussions about differences without shame. If we do, we are already on a path that is different than the one we walked.

Leave a Reply

