How to re-set your mindset

There are few things in the world scarier than change we don’t see coming.

tumblr_makqak93Lj1r6f6deo1_r2_500

[Image description: Image of Veronica Mars, TV character and hero of my life, with text underneath: “You know those people who can predict when change is coming in their life? I’m not one of them. Change has a way of just waking up and punching me in the face.”]

Change often engulfs us so much we don’t see a way out.

Sophomore year of college was the first time I was honest about the changes I wanted to make in my life with people besides myself. I began to volunteer for classes and projects that I knew NOTHING about. I started a different exercise routine. I started running again avidly, after three sprained ankles – yes, you read that right, twice on one, once on the other. It was beyond thrilling. It was beyond exciting. It was beyond terrifying.

Senior year of college, I took another leap. I signed up for The Washington Center, an internship-com-classroom experience. My internship led me to the National Defense University, where I joined an incredible, all-male team.

227842_1719157422842_4895325_n

It was another way to push boundaries and envelopes…and learn something I knew nothing about.

I also met one of my best friends.

995631_10202767183124757_3351739364875844407_n

She taught me that that terror I was feeling was not only natural but it meant our adventure was bound to mean something.

In 2014, I left a job that I had started only seven months before. I left for an opportunity that would prove to challenge me in other ways.

Now, I promised in my title a method to re-setting.

In my case, my mind has had to re-set to change.

In order to do so, I have committed to the following:

1. Do not change all at once. It is a shock to the people around you, and it is a shock to your own system. Instead, adopt one habit at a time.

2. Get more sleep…it’s a key, as Arianna Huffington will always attest to. Anyone who knew me in college would laugh to know that the person who stayed up until 4 AM without struggling (too much) the next day now needs eight hours to function. But I will say, sleep has helped me to be conscious of my decisions and of the world around me in a completely novel way.

copy-of-a-copy-of-a

3. Look at change as a kaleidoscope of the world you live in. It looks a little bit more colorful, a bit more interesting that way.

4. Remember where your support comes from, whether that’s family, friends, a love/love-like/like-like person, a faith, or just an inner charge. Yes that means you have to share it. It’s scary to admit you are making changes. And some people won’t like it. But if you have that support, especially an inner strength, you can and should always channel that.

5. And you know what the ultimate element of change is? Change will come when you need it.

5 thoughts on “How to re-set your mindset

  1. OK.. So are you saying you were wary of black people before coming to the U.S?

    Yes, you are right to rethink how things are.. I have just learnt to relax and try not to be judgemental!

    Like

    1. Was I? I’ve always been in the US, actually, and never had a wariness towards any skin color…I’m a bit confused by your question.
      Would you mind clarifying?
      And yes, I think relaxing is key! 🙂

      Like

      1. Well, the reason I thought that,was because you said that your best friend wouldn’t have been someone you would have talked to.. I thought it was because of cultural differences etc why you said something to that tune..

        So I don’t know if you meant black people or some other reason.. No worries. I may visit your blog again, you have good posts..

        Like

      2. Oh! Thank you for clarifying. I meant more that she and I live in different states, and are different ages, so we probably never would have met, let alone talked, before that experience. Thank you so much for elaborating. I appreciate it 🙂 I’d love for you to visit again, your insights are great!

        Like

Leave a Reply

