inbetween American

Life is an in-between. None of us (or, okay, maybe only a minute fraction of us) are born with an absolute truth.

I am an American born to two Pakistani parents. My check mark lies permanently next to the Asian – though I only look like some of that continent and nothing like most of the one I live on.

I am an American born with a faith that is condemned or whispered about, and only sometimes asked about.

I am an American with a penchant for turning media inside and out to find the ugly truths. (See: faith, above. It informs some of my media analysis, and influences the rest.)

I am an American who is ready to blend her life with someone. Admittedly, on the outside, he looks most like the people around me. But his check mark tells nothing about the continent where his family is from.

For all of these reasons, my life is an in-between. I hope to explore these in-betweens with these words.

One thought on “inbetween American

  1. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but
    your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark
    your site to come back in the future. All the best

    Like

Leave a Reply

